Not-To-Be-Missed Webinars in May

May 05, 2014
Kelly Mendoza
Director of Professional Development, Common Sense Education

CATEGORIES Professional Development

You are invited to attend our two exciting webinars this month. Attendance is free for both of them. Register today!

To stay up to date on all of our webinars and conference presentations, visit our Professional Development page. 


Protecting Student Privacy

On Tuesday, May 20th at 11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT, we are joining the U.S. Department of Education to speak about "Protecting Student Privacy." This free webinar, hosted by the American Federation of School Administrators, will address how advances in technology have increased the amount of personal student data that schools are collecting and monitoring. School administrators will learn what steps they should take to safeguard student privacy in a data-driven world. 

Register here.

Defeating the Culture of Bullying in an Age of Social Media

On Thursday, May 29th at 1:00 PM PDT/4:00 PM EDT, New York Times bestselling author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy, Emily Bazelon, will be our special guest on EdWeb to speak about "Defeating the Culture of Bullying in an Age of Social Media." In the year since the book was published, Emily has traveled around the country talking to students, parents, and educators, and has heard a need from teens to engage in complex conversations about their social experiences. With the release of the paperback edition of the Sticks and Stones in February, Emily also published a Teacher's Guide. In this webinar, she will share the guide and discuss strategies for using the book with students. If you aren't already a member of the Digital Citizenship community on EdWeb, you can join for free

Register here.